Maestro Music Press

The Composer's Voice...

       Home            Catalogue            Ordering            Print & Save           Mailing List           Resources           Permissions           Submissions           Contact




From Amazing Grace - A Lenten Musical Presentation

 by Michael Upward & Barbara Brennan

Soprano or Alto Solo, Tenor Solo

SATB Chorus, Piano

Level: Moderate

Product #: MMP-5125-1


Calvary is a new arrangement of this American Spiritual. To intensify the meaningful text, the arrangers set the entire melody in sixths, sung as a duet. The striking sonorities that blossomed gave rise to the underlying choral and piano accompaniment that builds and intensifies to the climax: “Don’t you hear those hammers ringing?” The striking chords of the piano and chorus finally recede, leaving only the two soloists ending softly: “Surely He died on Calvary.”  This is the perfect anthem for Lent, particularly Palm Sunday.  The congregation will be truly blessed.
Calvary is from Amazing Grace, a Lenten musicl program that tells of the Lord’s journey to Calvary through the music of the American Spiritual. As a woman recounts the story of the Lord’s passion to her grandchild, the verses of Amazing Grace are woven between new arrangements of spirituals accompanied by a solo violin, choir and piano. “Tonight I’m gonna tell you the story about how we were saved...” 

Click here for more information about the entire program.

Copies shipped to you - $1.80 each (plus shipping)

or  Bill Me Later (Not available yet. Please select "Add to Cart")

Digital Download - $0.99 each

Print and Save

What is this

(only available with Credit Card Payment)

Other Lenten Spirituals from Amazing Grace

Prayer of Peace Prayer of Peace Canticle

 Listen | More Info  Listen | More Info      Listen | More Info

Other Lenten Arrangements by Michael Upward & Barbara Brennan 

Prayer of Peace
Canticle Prayer of Peace Canticle
 Listen | More Info Listen | More Info Listen | More Info      Listen | More Info

Maestro Music Press Home Page
Full Catalogue




Maestro Music Press is a division of

The Maestro Company

Choral Music Publishing  Theater, Music & Dance Reviews  Composer Job Listings   Theatrical Licensing   Live Entertainment    

Contact    |    About Maestro    |     Site Map

Copyright © 2002 [The Maestro Company]. All rights reserved.
[Formerly The Maestro Group]
Revised: September 07, 2009.

For questions regarding this site, contact

Soul of My Savior Soul of My Savior